Congratulations to our 2017 Category and Regional Winners

The Farm Shop & Deli Awards is pleased to announce the 2017 Category and Regional winners. The winners were chosen from a plethora of nationwide entries and the thirteen category and nine regional winners were revealed at the Farm Shop & Deli Show on Monday 24th April 2017.

Now in its fourth year, the Awards recognise the best in class in the specialist independent retail market. They celebrate the very best standards, levels of service, product innovation and community involvement in the sector.

Joining Chair of Judges Nigel Barden and Co-chair of Judges Elaine Lemm, the awards were judged by a team of experts from the world of speciality retail, fine food and food media, including John Gill, Head of Commercial Operations at Booths, Holly Shackleton, Editor Speciality Food magazine and Megan Tatum, Deputy Features Editor of The Grocer. Shortlisted entrants were chosen, judges then carried out a series of undercover visits to see them in action, before selecting the category winners.


Nigel Barden   ElaineLemmJudge   Jon Gill cropped   Holly cropped   MeganTatum
Nigel Barden   Elaine Lemm   John Gill   Holly Shackleton   Megan Tatum


Meet our 2017 Farm Shop & Deli Awards judges

Ahead of the finals ceremony Nigel Barden, Chairman of Judges and Food and Drink Journalist and Broadcaster, said; “It’s a real privilege to acknowledge food and drink retailers of this quality and those looking after our online shopping requirements.  These are passionate, enterprising, knowledgeable and diligent people.  It’s been a tough, rigorous and rewarding process for our judges, but we are now in a position to announce our Category and Regional winners, alongside an inaugural Best Newcomer award.  It will also be a life-changing moment for the team whose business is named Retailer of the Year."

Elaine Lemm, Co-Chair of Judges also commented; “Whether a farm shop, market, bakery, deli or cheesemonger, a food hall,  local shop or online retailer, discovering the wealth of talent, hard work and passion that goes into these businesses is one of the highlights of my working year. Out on the road meeting and getting to know everyone once again reaffirms to me how valuable the Farm Shop and Deli Awards are in recognising their dedication.”


Farm Shop & Deli Awards 2017 – full list of Category winners, commended entrants and Regional winners


Baker of the Year

Winner: Hobbs House Bakery (Tetbury), also South West regional winner

Hobbs House Bakery

Bondgate Bakery (Otley)
Hambleton Bakery (Rutland)
The Hungry Guest (Petworth)


Butcher of the Year

Winner: Cunningham Butchery and Food Hall (Kilkeel), also Northern Ireland regional winner


Brace of Butchers (Dorchester)
Meat NW5 (London)
The Pink Pig Farm (Scunthorpe)
Walter Rose & Son (Devizes)


Cheesemonger of the Year

Winner: Paxton & Whitfield (London), also South East regional winner

Paxton Whitfield lr

Cheese Please (Lewes)
Cheeses of Muswell Hill (London)
The Courtyard Dairy (Settle)


Delicatessen of the Year

Winner: Delilah Fine Foods (Leicester)

Delilah Fine Foods

Arch House Deli (Clifton)
Billingtons of Lenzie (Glasgow)
Papadeli (Bristol)
The Gourmet Pig (Fishguard)
The Norfolk Deli (Hunstanton)

Farm Shop Large Retailer of the Year sponsored by Lakeland Computers

Winner: Keelham Farm Shop Ltd (Skipton), also North East regional winner and Retailer of the Year

Keelham Farm Shop lr

Bodnant Welsh Food Centre (Tal y cafn, Conwy)
Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop (Bakewell)
Drewton’s Farm Shop (South Cave) 

Farm Shop Large Small Retailer of the Year sponsored by Lakeland Computers

Winner: The Gog Farm Shop (Cambridge), also East Anglia regional winner

The Gog Farm Shop

Cross Lanes Organic Farm Ltd (Barnard Castle)
Dahlia’s Farm Shop (Blackpool)
Foxholes Farm Shop (Hertford)
Roots Farm Shop (Northallerton)
Uncle Henry’s (Grayingham)
Welbeck Farm Shop (Worksop)


Fishmonger of the Year


Winner: Ramus Seafood Emporium (Harrogate)

Latimers (Whitburn)
The Fresh Fish Shop Ltd (Haywards Heath)


Food Hall of the Year

Winner: Delifonseca Dockside (Liverpool), also North West regional winner


Bakers & Larners of Holt (Norfolk)
Cranstons /Brampton Food Hall (Brampton)
Ludlow Food Centre (Shropshire)


Greengrocer of the Year

Winner: Rafters of Driffield (Driffield)


Andreas of Chelsea (London)
K.D. Davis & Sons (Rotherham)


Local Shop of the Year

Winner: Siop Pwllglas (Ruthin), also Wales regional winner

Siop Pwllglas

FINK (Boroughbridge)
Shropshire’s Own (Shrewsbury)
StockGhyll Fine Food (Ambleside)

Market of the Year

Winner: Horsforth Farmers’ Market (West Yorks)

Horsforth Farmers Market Market winners

West Malling Farmers’ Market (Kent)


Midlands Regional winner

Winner: Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop (Bakewell)


Newcomer of the Year

Winner: Brace of Butchers (Dorchester)

Brace of Butchers

Court Farm Shop (Cheltenham)
Donaghy & Sanderson (Pitlochry)
Love Cheese (York)
The Lambing Shed Farm Shop (Knutsford)


Online Business of the Year

Winner: Farmison & Co (Ripon) 


Dukeshill Ham Co Ltd (Telford)
Parsnips and Pears (Colston Bassett)
The Cornish Fishmonger (Saint Columb).


Scotland Regional winner

Winner: Billington’s of Lenzie (Glasgow)

Billingtons of Lenzie


Congratulations to all our worthy winners!

See our previous Farm Shop & Deli Category, Regional and Retailer of the Year winners here.