Judging Structure

Judging structure Meet our judges What judges look for


Judging structure and process

What awards can be won?

The Farm shop and Deli Awards aim to recognise and reward excellence in the specialist retail market. Developed to cover the length and breadth of the UK's specialist retail market and support the independent food sector.

For 2023 we are looking for the 'Best in Region', split by small or large retailer, to include:

• East Anglia
• Midlands
• North East
• North West
• Northern Ireland
• Scotland
• South East
• South West
• Wales

You will be asked to tell us if you are a small retailer (if annual turnover is £600,000 or under) or larger retailer (if annual turnover is £600,000 or more). 

These awards are set to be the national benchmark for all specialist retailers.

Click on the link below to hear what our judges lhave looked for in previous years in a winning entry:

What judges look for button

Initial judging criteria

The initial judging process of the online entry forms in February will include a weighted scoring system to decide Regional Finalists and 'Best in Region Winners'.

Independent retailers must be selling regional fresh/farm produce or with a delicatessen counter, and only independent retailers (who sell directly to consumers/individuals) can enter the awards.

Take a look at our category descriptions:



Take a look at the online entry form questions and tips on answering them by clicking on the link below:


Tips and entry questions



Our chair of Judges Nigel Barden will be joined by leading specialist retailers and key industry figures to bring a wealth of knowledge to the awards judging. The whole process will be rigorous and thorough to ensure the maximum value in the market for these awards.

Take a look at the judging panel by clicking the button below: